top of page

ISRO's K Kasturirangan Heads Education Ministry's Panel To Develop New Curriculum For Schools

Officials claimed the Union education ministry organised a 12-member group on Tuesday to develop new curriculums for school, early childhood, teacher, and adult education. K Kasturirangan, the chairperson of the

-2020 (NEP-2020) drafting committee, will lead the group entrusted with designing four national curriculum frameworks (NCFs). Mr. Kasturirangan was also the previous Director General of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

According to ministry officials, this will be the fifth NCF, following a 16-year hiatus, and will follow the reforms established in the NEP. Chancellor of National Institute of Education Planning and Administration Mahesh Chandra Pant, Chairman of National Book Trust Govind Prasad Sharma, Vice Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia Najma Akhtar, Vice-Chancellor of Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh T V Kattimani, Chairperson of IIM Jammu Milind Kamble, and guest professor at IIT Gandhinagar Michel are among the panel's members.

Jagbir Singh, Chancellor of Central University of Punjab, Bathinda; Manjul Bhargava, American mathematician of Indian origin; M K Sridhar, trainer and social activist; Dhir Jhingran, founder director of Language and Learning Foundation (LLF); and Shankar Maruwada, co-founder and CEO at EkStep Foundation, are also on the panel.

According to the terms of reference of the committee, it will develop four NCFs for school education, early childhood care and education, teacher education and adult education, keeping in focus all the recommendations of NEP-2020 related to these


bottom of page